Crashing Into Love

A Bus Suddenly Stops Short And Hurls Two Strangers Into An Unexpected Romance

The morning commute to work is very rarely the highlight of your day. But for this week’s Love Letter couple, one commute might be the highlight of their lives. 

That’s because Jackie and Francescoli met while on the way to work one June morning in Lima, Peru when a narrowly avoided accident between the bus and a cyclist sent passengers tumbling, knocking the lovebirds into each other. 

A self-described introvert, Francescoli recognized Jackie from past commutes. After she fell into him and they struck up a conversation, he didn’t miss his chance to ask for her Instagram handle so they could keep chatting. 

Five months later the pair are going strong, and they’re hopeful about the future of their young relationship. Here is their story.

How did you two meet?

Jackie: In Peru, we don't have a subway. There is a bus system that is called Metropolitano. We would take the same line because our jobs were really close. We were standing because there were no seats. Everything is really packed in the buses here. It’s really crowded, extremely crowded. 

So we were standing there trying not to push anyone. But halfway through the trip a biker suddenly crossed in front of our bus and the driver had to hit the brakes. And because of that I pushed the person next to me, and that person was Francescoli. 

Could you imagine? I was so embarrassed. I not only pushed him, but I stepped on his foot too. And I was just like I’m going to pretend that didn’t happen. I was wearing my earbuds, listening to Taylor Swift. And then I noticed that someone was talking to me, and it was him asking me questions. I took an earbud out and he was asking me “Are you okay?” 

Francescoli: I remember I was listening to my music on the way to work, and suddenly the bus stopped. The way we crashed into each other, it felt like we were two astronauts in space. I’m generally very empathetic, and the first thing I wanted to do was see if she was okay. I asked her five times, but she didn’t answer because she had her earbuds in. 

Jackie: He thought I was ignoring him. 

Francescoli: Then she took one out and we started talking and I asked if she was alright. We talked for a minute or two, but she was getting off the next stop. Before she got off, I asked if she would share her Instagram with me so that we could keep talking, because I didn’t want to miss this opportunity to meet someone on a bus. 

How did things continue from there?

Jackie: Once we started talking we realized we had a lot of things in common. We’re both very musical. We love music. It’s something that has been with us every step in our relationship and something that we really appreciate.

We started exchanging songs and we had a real connection there. He has a big collection of vinyls and a turntable to play the records. And I had my vinyls but I didn’t have the turntable. And I was like “Are you serious? I’ve been looking for that for the last year!” We felt so much in common. It was this connection that had never happened to me before. 

Francescoli: It wasn’t just that. There was also photography. Jackie loves polaroid photography, she has a really nice collection. And I love taking photos on my Leica. Seeing how much we had in common, and her reaction to hearing I had a turntable, was just magical. 

What was your first date?

Jackie: He invited me to have dinner the same day we met. This was Friday, June 23. I remember it really clearly. He actually wanted to get coffee, but I was hungry so I told him “Let’s get food instead.” 

I don’t remember what we ordered, I just remember the conversation. In the moment I was thinking “Okay, this is a really interesting person.” I’d never met someone this way. It’s like it was meant to be. 

Did any part of you want to say no when he asked for your Instagram?

Jackie: Nobody had ever approached me in a bold way like that. So I was like “Okay, this guy likes to take risks.” And I’m such a risk taker. He’s really handsome, too. So I was just like “What’s the worst case scenario?” 

Why did you ask her out that same day?

Francescoli: I couldn’t get her out of my head that day. And I didn’t want to wait days until I could see her again. Both Jackie and I weren’t planning on meeting anyone. We both had our own goals and plans. But life had other plans and brought us together. 

What’s the best date you’ve been on over the past 5 months?

Jackie: In Peru we have three regions: the coast, the mountains, and the jungle. We did a little getaway in the jungle. We stayed in a cabin. The first night, we lit a bonfire and we just ate marshmallows and drank beers and talked about music. It was a very starry night, and we were in the middle of the forest, and it was the most precious moment. Work life here is not easy, you learn to appreciate the little moments. That was the first time we said “I love you.” 

Do you have any advice when it comes to being outgoing?

Francescoli: My advice would be to believe in yourself. It’s very likely that you can make very good friends or meet a great girl. I like my privacy, but when I saw Jackie, I wanted to exit my comfort zone to go be with her.

I took the opportunity to meet someone I’d seen before because she seemed like a nice person. And I was right. 

Do you still ride the bus together?

Jackie: We take the same line, same bus, same time, every day. 

Francescoli: It’s our routine. 

Jackie: We love it. 

🤔 Poll

When would you add a romantic interest on social media ?

Click below to vote!

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

📊 Last Week We Asked…

  • [poll] “How good are you at recognizing love signs/hints?”

    • 16% said “I usually catch the signs”

    • 40% said “Sometimes I get it, sometimes I don’t”

    • 44% said “I rarely notice romantic signals”

Do you or someone you know have a meet-cute story for the Love Letter? Get in touch here!

Did someone you know forward you this love letter? Subscribe Here

Interviewed and transcribed by Nicolas Vega. This interview has been edited for length and clarity.